The Need For Weed and The Persistent Myth of the Gateway Drug

Obama, gateway drug, stereotypes, stories, Reese Rose

I initially wanted to start this story as a discussion surrounding the various stories that weed smokers have about our shared indulgence. As I was reading this New York Press article by Reese Rose I was pulled into her intricate and comforting description of the world of pot. It was only after I had written a few lines before I realized that Reese Rose’s story is also a perfect example of how some people try weed and then they just as abruptly stop using it.

It is not that I had some spiritual or moral awakening. And the run-in with the law that night did not exactly amount to a sobering moment. But in time, I moved out of the house, the DJ and I stopped being friends and the endless supply of weed was no longer available or free. Being a pothead is a lot less appealing when you have to start working at it.

This story clearly dispels the myth that marijuana is a ‘gateway drug‘; actually marijuana has been shown to be among the drugs that a person will abuse if they have the potential to be a drug abuser over all. Meaning that if they couldn’t get their hands on marijuana they may be just as likely to sniff glue or huff aerosol cans which is a whole ‘other issue.

Either way, Reese Rose told a good pot story and I’m sure she’s not the only one with a great toke story to tell. That got me to reminiscing about my best weed smoking story. Do you have an ill weed story? If so let us know, tweet it, blog it or Tumblr-er it and don’t forget to use the hashtag #HMJ or #MyHMJWeedStory so we can find your story. Because we all love a good weed story, right?

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] The Need For Weed and The Persistent Myth of the Gateway Drug (via Cafe Vale Tudo) I initially wanted to start this story as a discussion surrounding the various stories that weed smokers have about our shared indulgence. As I was reading this New York Press article by Reese Rose I was pulled into her intricate and comforting description of the world of pot. It was only after I had written a few lines before I realized that Reese Rose's story is also a perfect example of how some people try weed and then they just as abruptly s … Read More […]

    Reply

  2. When I was litte I spun in circles to get a rush, as do almost all children. when I got older I stole a cigarette from my parents and smoked it to feel a buzz. I later stole some beer from my father and and drank it to get drunk. Only long after that did I finally try weed.
    My point:
    This story didn’t start with weed. So where does the gateway start?
    Nowhere, drugs naturally exist in our own bodies, DMT, Indocannidinoids, GHB and more. And drugs naturally occur in thousands of plants and foods.

    Humans naturally have the desire to feel an altered state. And all to often we need drugs like alchohol and weed to help alleviate the stress of our daily demands and responsibilities that our F*cked up society creates. Period.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

